Skip Navigation

GSB Announces 2019-2020 Junior Board of Directors

by Madelyn McConnell

The GSB Junior Board of Directors program is designed to introduce local high school juniors to a variety of banking, leadership, and community service opportunities. Through this program, we encourage students to become leaders in their schools. In addition to becoming leaders, we inspire them to take pride in their community.

Board members are chosen through an application and interview process. The application includes an essay explaining why they want to be a part of the board and requires a teacher recommendation. Additionally, they take part in a formal interview conducted by a panel of GSB employees. The 2019-2020 school year will be our 6th year to have a Junior Board of Directors. This program has become very popular in the schools, and consequently, the interest has grown steadily over the years. This year, the board has students from Grove, Jay, Colcord, and Kansas, Oklahoma.

Beginning each September, the Junior Board participates in monthly meetings.  This allows students to gain hands-on experience in conducting business meetings. Furthermore, this exposes them to a wide range of finance-focused speakers as well as employment opportunities in the banking world. Students get the chance to participate in two field trips: Jack Henry Headquarters in Monett, MO and the Oklahoma Bankers Association and state capitol tour in Oklahoma City. At the end of the school year, one student is chosen as the “shining star.” The “shining star” is awarded a scholarship that will be presented to them upon high school graduation.

The 2019-2020 GSB Junior Board of Directors are:


From Grove: Justice Bassett, Tori Bauer, Hannah Brown, Kash Butler, Kord Butler, Sierra Campbell, Lauren Chaney, Jacob Clark, Sophie Combs, Zach Decker, Meadow Dezoete, Hannah Dozier, Kelsey Honeycutt, Ayden Hunsperger, Taylor Johnson, Abby Kreutz, Mason McGough, Zoee Roland, Lainey Rutter, Wyatt Wall, Whitney Williams, and Lincoln Wright.

From Jay: Emily Andrews, Rhett Arnold, Emigail Barnes, Alexis Farley, Jorey Hollenback, Jeffrey Kirby, Loran Kirk, Brookelynn Sperry, Kaylea Taylor, Makayla Tollefson, and Johnny Williamson.

From Kansas: Anna Martin.

From Colcord: Olivia Hopper and Jade Potter.



Open an Account

Opening an account is safe, simple and secure.

Begin Deposit Application Begin Loan Application
Find a Branch or ATM

We’d love to talk with you face-to-face. Stop by your local branch today.

Our Locations
Send a Message

Questions? Comments? We’d love to hear from you.

Contact Us
Our Blog
Bank with Confidence

Bank with Confidence

Ten years ago, Grand Savings Bank gained the partnership of a great group of investors out of Northwest Arkansas and […]

Episode 10: Celebrating 10 Years of Growth

Episode 10: Celebrating 10 Years of Growth

Maddye McConnell, Marketing Officer at Grand Savings Bank, interviews Tyler Steele, Vice Chairman of Grand Savings Bank, about the growth […]

Celebrating 10 Years of Growth

Celebrating 10 Years of Growth

This April, we’re celebrating an important milestone: the 10th anniversary of our expansion to Northwest Arkansas! While we began serving […]

View All Articles

Grand Savings Bank has no control over any website hyperlinked to or from this website. Our Terms of Use linked at the bottom of our website explains your agreement when you access such third party sites. Grand Savings Bank is not responsible for your use of a hyperlinked site.